ASEAN Ambassadors in Tel Aviv lead celebration of ASEAN’s 50th Anniversary

8 August 2017 -- Philippine Ambassador to Israel Neal Imperial led a simple program at the Quezon Room of the Philippine Embassy in Tel Aviv to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the founding of ASEAN, highlighting the strong bonds that underlie the close cooperation between member states.

“Since our five founding fathers signed the Bangkok Declaration on August 8, 1967 … ASEAN has achieved much and defied all expectations,” Ambassador Imperial declared.

“After uniting ten diverse countries under one regional organization, ASEAN has created a new regional architecture conducive to economic growth and regional security and stability.”

The reception was attended by the Ambassadors and officials of Myanmar, Philippines, Thailand, and Vietnam -- the only ASEAN Member Countries that have representations in Israel.

(3)DSC 0981

The resident ASEAN Ambassadors in Israel (left to right): Ambassador Maung Maung Lyn (Myanmar); Ambassador Imperial; Ambassdor Penprapa Vongkovit (Thailand) and Ambassador Cao Tran Quoc Hai (Vietnam)

The program opened with the singing of the ASEAN Anthem, “The ASEAN Way”, followed by a viewing of videos on the ASEAN Economic Community, ASEAN Political Community, and ASEAN Socio-Cultural Community, as well as a video on the Philippines’ Chairmanship of ASEAN 2017.

ASEAN’s rich cultural heritage was showcased through song numbers performed by the Embassy’s political assistant, Mr. Erich George Oquendo, and officers of the Thai Embassy. Mr. Oquendo performed the classic Filipino ballad Anak, while Thai Embassy officers rendered their version of “Near Dawn”, a song written by the late King, His Majesty Bhumibol Adulyadej.

(3)DSC 0762

The Ambassadors and officials of the ASEAN countries in Israel during the celebration


The Philippines’ chairmanship of ASEAN was launched in January 2017, focusing on six thematic priorities: a people-oriented and people-centered ASEAN; regional peace and stability; maritime security and cooperation; inclusive, innovation-led growth; a resilient ASEAN; and ASEAN as a model of regionalism and a global player.


ASEAN, or the Association of Southeast Asian Nations, is comprised of ten member states. After the signing of the Bangkok Declaration in 1967, the five original members were joined by Brunei Darussalam (1984); Viet Nam (1995); Lao PDR and Myanmar (1997); and Cambodia (1999).


For more information on ASEAN and the Philippines’ chairmanship, visit For more news from the Philippine Embassy in Tel Aviv, visit or follow us on FB at


--- END