X Factor Israel Grand Champion and Bagong Bayani Awardee, Osang Fostanes, Registers as Overseas Voter


Chargé d'Affaires Nathaniel G. Imperial and Vice Consul Bryan Jess Baguio receiving
the overseas voter registration form from Ms. Rose "Osang" Fostanes

1 December 2014, Tel Aviv, State of Israel - The first ever 2014 X Factor Israel grand champion and 2014 Bagong Bayani for Culture and the Arts awardee, Ms. Rose "Osang" Fostanes visited the Philippine Embassy in Tel Aviv today to register as an overseas voter for the purpose of the 2016 national elections.

Despite her busy schedule, Osang, as she is fondly called by her friends and adoring fans took her time off from work to register to be able to exercise her right to vote and choose the next leaders of the Philippines. She said that she has been working in Israel for the past six years and is excited to vote in the upcoming 2016 presidential elections for the first time as an overseas voter.

Ms. Fostanes' success story has become a source of inspiration to overseas Filipinos. She hopes that she would be able to encourage overseas Filipinos to register for the 2016 national elections. Ms. Fostanes emphasized that it is the duty of every responsible Filipino to vote and let their voices be heard. b

All Filipino citizens residing in Israel may register as overseas voters by submitting a duly accomplished Overseas Voting Form No. 1 and present any of the following documents:

1. Valid Philippine passport or in the absence thereof, a certification of the DFA that the applicant is a holder of a valid passport but is unable to produce the same for a valid reason;

2. Original or certified true copy of the Order of Approval to retain or reacquire Filipino citizenship in case of applicants who have availed themselves of the "Citizenship Retention and Reacquisition Act" (RA 9225); or

3. Seamans Book or any other pertinent document in case of seafarers.

Registration for overseas voting at the Philippine Embassy is open from Sundays to Thursdays between 8:30AM to 4:30PM, until 31 October 2015. --END--c